One Carb Hot Chocolate

I wish I would have realized this years ago.

Hot Chocolate can be Keto, too!

I drink this every day before going into work. It is pretty high fiber, packed with good fats, and reasonably low on the calories. It’s also only one net carb.

Image

And there are only four ingredients.

  • hot water in a regular sized mug, filled 3/4 the way full
  • 1 Tbs of cocoa powder (only 10 calories!)
  • 2 Tbs of heavy cream
  • 3 drops of liquid stevia. (You can add more if you don’t think it’s sweet enough.)

Mix together, and you’ve got a high fat, low carb warm snack. This is super easy to throw together in a rush.

Image

Tips: Make sure your water is hot for two reasons.

  1. The baking cocoa powder doesn’t mix very easily if the water is cold or room temperature.
  2. When you add the cold cream, it will bring down the temperature of your cocoa.

Use liquid stevia, not the packets. The packets contain some carbs that keep stevia in a powdered form rather than a liquid. Liquid stevia had 0 carbs!

Image

Plateauing again: Losing inches, not pounds

A few weeks ago, I dropped to 154. I was so excited that I’d be seeing the 140’s soon. I haven’t seen the 140’s in over 5 years!

This week, I gained 3 pounds. Beyond frustrated, I checked the scale for my body fat percentage. I had gone from 32% a few weeks ago at 157 to 31% at 157. Which means that I lost 2.5 pounds of fat. Which reminds me of this video about what fat looks like. The first minute is a promotional for his business, but after that, there is a really good illustration of what fat looks like in the body.

So where did that other 3 pounds come from? It looks like some came from the muscle I am building and some came from water weight.

Satisfyingly enough, I’ve lost another belt notch in the last two weeks. I’ve also dropped an inch on my waist in the last week.

Lesson of the week: Progress isn’t always seen on the scale.