What’s different?

I posted yesterday on my facebook about how my I’d reached my 60 day mark and some accomplishments I’d made with that. I also talked about how I’m not sure what was different about the last 60 days rather than any other 60 day period in my life. I’m not sure why I’ve stuck with the diet so strictly. Don’t even get me started on thinking about what the difference is with the exercise. I’ve never been a fan of it, so the fact that in the last 60 days I’ve jogged/walked/ran about 100 miles is beyond me.

I do know some things that are different about myself now though. And I’d like to share some of them with you.

I don’t drink soda anymore. Well I can’t say I never do, but I can say that currently there is none in my house and I don’t feel the need to go pick some up before work. I occasionally have a diet soda when I’m craving one. Even at that, it’s probably once a week or even less. I used to drink about 36 – 72 ounces (maybe more?) of diet soda per day. I just think water is so much more satisfying now.

My energy levels are the same throughout the day and they do not rely on food. So far today, I’ve gotten up, did some arm and ab exercises, got a shower, got dressed made a meal and I still haven’t eaten yet. I’ve been up for 4 and a half hours without food and I’m perfectly fine. I could probably go the whole day without eating. The fact is, my body is using ketones (from fat) for energy instead of whatever glucose I eat. Since I’ve got a steady supply of fat, there is no need to eat every 3-4 hours. I also never feel hunger like I used to since my body isn’t constantly craving sugar. (See the sugar addiction chart below… and remember anything that is a carbohydrate other than fiber turns straight into sugar within 15-30 minutes in our bodies!)

Image

My body weight isn’t changing much, but my shape is. I did drop some weight this morning, but my weight isn’t my concern anymore. It’s the shape of my body. When I see myself naked, less parts jiggle. My tummy is getting flatter, my thighs are getting firmer, and my overall shape is getting smaller.

We’ve all heard those quotes, “It takes X number of days to make or break a habit.” I’ve heard everything from 21 days to 30 days to 90 days or even more. In some ways, over the last 60 days, I’ve developed some habits and kicked some others. Some of them have come more natural than others. It’s hard to say if these habits came at day 12, 21, 34, or 58, but they seem to be here to stay. And I’m ok with that!

